YSRCP to issue no-confidence motion on Friday

NEW DELHI: With the Centre not budging a bit on its demand for Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh, the YSR Congress party has decided to table a no-confidence motion on Friday. The decision by the opposition seems to have been taken with its constant efforts in the last couple of weeks yielding no results.
YSRCP has intensified its struggle and has already met MPs from other political parties of the Telugu states, to muster support for the no-confidence motion. They met Bhartrihari Mehtab of BJP, Narasimhan of TDP and TRS leader Jitender Reddy in this regard. Further, YSRCP MPs are considering to resign from their MP posts soon after the Parliament is adjourned if there is no positive development from the Central government.
Earlier in the day, YSRCP leaders met at YV Subba Reddy’s residence to discuss the future course of action. They alleged that the present situation to Andhra Pradesh is only because of Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, who has allegedly compromised the interests of the State to save himself from ‘Vote for Note scam’. Subba Reddy reiterated that the SCS issue has come back on the agenda only because of YSRCP’s continuous struggle.
On Thursday, the YSRCP MPs staged a protest near the Speaker’s podium in the Lok Sabha. On the other hand, MP Vijaya Sai Reddy voiced for the SCS in Rajya Sabha. With Chandrababu himself directing TDP MPs to unite for the cause of achieving Special Status to Andhra Pradesh, it will be interesting to see how well the AP leaders will work together despite a difference of opinion among themselves.