Election of president of India 2017

Presidential Election is scheduled on 17 July 2017. Election results will be announced just five days before the current term expires.
Ram Nath Kovind, the Governor of Bihar, was announced as the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP)-led NDA’s candidate for the post of President of India. Kovind is a Dalit leader and a politician from the BJP. He was a lawyer who practiced in the Delhi High Court and the Supreme Court for 16 years. Kovind represented India in the United Nations and addressed United Nations General Assembly once and, a member of the Board of Governors of Indian Institute of Management.
Meira Kumar, the former Speaker of Lok Sabha, was announced as the Indian National Congress(Congress)-lead opposition’s candidate for the post of President of India by the opposition after a meeting held on the 22 June 2017. She is the daughter of freedom fighter and former deputy PM Jagjivan Ram. She was elected unopposed as the first woman Speaker of Lok Sabha and served from 2009 to 2014.
Ram Nath Kovind ,being the NDA candidate, he enjoys the support of BJP and its allies, Shiv Sena and PDP. The electoral college for picking the president is clearly in favour the BJP-led NDA’s and its supporters. He is sure of winning the election. The voting will takes place by secret ballot, in accordance with the single transferable vote method.