Citizenship Amendment Act in effect from Jan. 10

The Central Government has issued a notification for the Citizenship Amendment Act.

The Citizenship Amendment Act 2019 has come into force across the country from today. The Central Government has announced to implement the CAA in the country with effect from January 10, 2020. In this regard, the Union Home Ministry issued a notification saying that under this law, non-Muslim refugees from Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan will be granted Indian citizenship.

Under sub-section (2) of Section 1 of the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, the Central Government has decided to implement this law from January 10, 2020.

Ministry of Home Affairs: Central Government appoints the 10th day of January 2020, as the date on which the provisions of the Citizenship Amendment Act shall come into force.
There have been protests across the country against this law. Those opposing this law say that for the first time religion will be the basis of citizenship in India. This hurts the basic concept of the country’s constitution.

However, the central government and the ruling BJP have been fiercely defending the law. They say that people from these three neighboring countries have been tortured on religious grounds. These people have no choice but to come to India to save their lives and honor. However, the Home Ministry is yet to decide the rules regarding this law.