As Jagan Prepares For Padayatra, Another MLA Defects To TDP

In yet another set back to YS Jagan, YSR Congress MLA Vantala Rajeswari joined the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in the presence of Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu in Amaravati. Rajeshwari won the 2014 legislative assembly election from YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) seat from Rampachodavaram. With Rajeshwari, joining the TDP bandwagon, so far 22 MLAs shifted loyalties to TDP.
While speaking to reporters, Rajeswari said, “I am joining the TDP after observing massive development in the state. I want to develop my constituency under the leadership of Chandrababu Naidu”.
As Jagan is preparing for his 7-month-long padayatra, joining of Rajeswari in TDP is seen as a major blow to the YSRCP by many political observers. Jagan’s ‘Praja Sankalpa Yatra’ will commence from RK Valley in Kadapa district on November 6 and will cover 3,000km across the state.
The YSR Congress party recently announced that it will boycott the winter sessions of the assembly if the 21 MLAs who defected to TDP were not disqualified immediately. On the contrary, four of the 21 defected MLAs are currently in the cabinet.
With Jagan busy with his Praja Sankalpa Yatra, it is strongly rumored that more defections are going to happen in the next few months.